Skip to content. Skip to navigation.
Einsendeschluß | 15.10.2008

The Szpilman Award is awarded to works that exist only for a moment or a short period of time. The purpose of the award is to promote such works whose forms consist of ephemeral situations.


The Szpilman Award is awarded annually. The prize winner receives the Jackpot Stipendium. This scholarship consists of three parts:

A challenge cup, 10 days of accommodation in Cimochowizna (Poland), and a sum of money in cash.

The amount of money is dynamic. Szpilman is raising money parallel to the competition. The prize winner receives the money that is raised until October 15, 2008. The current score may be checked here.

Among the applicants, one award winner will be identified.

The challenge cup will be handed over to the next prize winner
in the subsequent year.


Everyone can apply for the Szpilman Award. Both individuals and groups of persons are free to apply.

The work must have been realized between October 1, 2007, and October 15, 2008.

To apply, send in a significant documentation.

To that, fill in the application form (pdf) with name, e-mail,
telephone, address, title of the work, and date of construction.

Send in application plus significant documentation by mail to:
Szpilman Award, Brunnenstrasse 10, 10119 Berlin, Deutschland

Applications by e-mail are NOT accepted.

Closing date: October 15, 2008 (postmark).

The rights remain with the author. Szpilman is planning a catalogue where pictures of individual works will be printed after consultation with the participants.

Documentations can only be returned if a self-addressed stamped envelope is enclosed in the application.


From October 30 till November 2, 2008 all applications will be looked trough and jugded by the jury. They will select the best four and the winner.

The winner will be informed on November 2, the best in the following week.

In the following month Szpilman  will organzize a group exhibition for the selected participants.


In 2008 all applications will be looked through and judged by:

Bernd Euler
Doug Fishbone (prize winner 2007)
Dirk Fleischmann
Leonard Kahlcke
Patrick Koch
Tina Kohlmann
Friederike Schönhuth
Tina Schott
Michal Sznajder (prize winner 2007)

The prize winner will be presented the challenge cup and the Jackpot
Stipendium live at his/her place of residence end of November 2008.