Skip to content. Skip to navigation.

The University Council, together with the Rector's Office and the Senate, is one of the three leading collegial bodies of the university.

Dr. Alfred Brogyányi, Chairman, graduated in 1972 (Doctor of Law), and although he worked as an auditor for many years, he presided over the Austrian Chamber of Chartered Accountants, Tax Advisorsand Licensed Bookkeepers from 2002 to 2006. Now, Alfred Brogyányi is the Managing Director of Opika Wirtschaftsprüfungs- und Steuerberatungsgesellschaft mbH (Auditors and Tax Advisors LTD) and is well-known as a counsellor and auditor well versed in matters related to Austrian economy. Alfred Brogyányi has been awarded the Großes Ehrenzeichen für Verdienste um die Republik Österreich (order of merit for services rendered to the Republic of Austria) and has both privately and publicly dedicated himself to collecting works of art and culture. This is why, apart from his function as Chair of the University Council of the Academy, he also presides over the Freundeverein der Wiener Hofmusikkapelle (association of friends of the Viennese court orchestra).

Dr. Ingried Brugger studied Art History, Architecture and German in Vienna and Berlin. In 1988 she started her curatorial career at the Kunstforum Länderbank (permanent exhibition venue sponsored by Länderbank), and since 1991 she has been curating at the Bank Austria Kunstforum (its successor), whose Managing Director she became nine years later. From 2004 to 2008 Ingried Brugger was a member of the University Council of the Kunstuniversität Linz (School of Art and Industrial Design in Linz, Upper Austria), and since 2008 she has been a member of the University Council of the Academy of Fine Arts, Vienna.

Dr. Karin Gmeiner, Vice Chair, is a mediator and Collaborative Lawyer in Vienna. She studied at Vienna Law School, attended the postgraduate course for export merchants at the Vienna University of Economics and Business, and worked as a contractual assistant at the Department of Comparative Law from 1993 to 1997. In 2000 Karin Gmeiner set up her own law firm, and since 2005 she has been advising artists in legal matters as part of the legal counselling service provided by the IG Bildende Kunst (special interest group representing Austrian fine artists). Furthermore, Karin Gmeiner has been focusing on Civil and Company Law, on conflict prevention, and on Alternative Dispute Resolution.

Matthias Herrmann is a fine artist with various functions in the art industry. From 1999 to 2006, he was president of the Vienna Secession (Union of Austrian Artists), from 2006 to 2011 he held a chair in Art and Photography at the Academy of Fine Arts Vienna, where he was also head of the Department of Fine Arts. Matthias Hermann has received several awards for his artistic works, among them the Fine Arts Prize of the City of Vienna (2005), the Austrian Art Prize (2012) and the Otto Breicha / Rupertinum Prize for Photographic Art (2013).

Dr. Rudolf Scholten has been a member of the board of directors of the Oesterreichischen Kontrollbank PLC (specialized institution owned by Austrian commercial banks) since 1997. In 1978 he graduated as Doctor of Law, and from 1976 to 1984 he worked for the OeKB in Vienna and for Morgan Stanley in New York. From 1984 Rudolf Scholten was economic policy advisor at the Ministry of Finance, after 1986 economic and cultural policy advisor of the Austrian Federal Chancellor, and 1988 - 1990 Secretary General of the Austrian Federal Theater Association. From 1990 to 1997 he held the office of Federal Minister for Education, Science, and Art. Moreover, Rudolf Scholten is the president of the Bruno Kreisky Forum, chairman of the supervisory board of the Wiener Festwochen (Vienna Festival) and of the Austrian Film Institute, as well as Member of the Media and Performance Committee at the Museum of Modern Art in New York.