Skip to content. Skip to navigation.

The Art Division comprises the following departments or areas of assistance:

Department 1: Visual arts, architecture, design, fashion, photography, video and media arts
Department 2: Music and performing arts, art schools, general art matters
Department 3: Film
Department 5: Literature and publishing, Libraries
Department 6: Medals and awards, event management, special projects, digitization
Department 7: Cultural initiatives, folks culture

The Österreichische Filmförderungsfonds, founded in 1980, is one of the intermediary institutions to be taken out of the direct administration by the Art Division and in 1993 was renamed the Austrian Film Institute as was KulturKontakt AUSTRIA, founded in 1989, for cultural cooperation in the new Eastern European democracies. Additionally, the preservation and the administration of the Federal art collection was handed over in 2002 to the "Gesellschaft zur Förderung der Digitalisierung des Kulturgutes" (association promoting the digitalising of cultural heritage).