Akademie der bildenden Künste Wien
Akademie der bildenden Künste Wien

To the exhibitions

Timeby Raqs

Thicket of Ideas
Thicket of Times

Skip to content. Skip to navigation.
Award Ceremony | 14.04.2011, 6.00 p.m.
Presentation of works by the Birgit-Jürgenssen-Prizewinner | 15.04.2011 - 17.04.2011
Venue | Academy of Fine Arts Vienna, Schillerplatz 3, 1010 Vienna, Aula

Opening hours: 11 a.m. - 6 p.m., free access


Toni Schmale, "sit", 2010
Photo: Laurette Rasch


Award ceremony | 14.04.2011, 6.00 p.m.
Welcoming speech | Stephan Schmidt-Wulffen, Rector of the Academy of Fine Arts Vienna
Ceremonial address in memory of Birgit Jürgenssen |
Carola Dertnig, artist and associate professor for performative art
Presentation of the award | Gudrun Schreiber, Art Department in the Austrian Federal Ministry for Education, Arts and Culture

As a teacher and member of various academic boards, Birgit Jürgenssen was closely bound up with the Academy of Fine Arts Vienna and, throughout many years, had a determining influence on the institution. From the early 1980s on, she was involved in establishing an interdisciplinary platform forging a link between painting and photography in the context of the master class of Arnulf Rainer and, subsequently, that of Peter Kogler. Until her untimely end, the relationship and contact with her students remained a crucial concern for her as a teacher.

For her work as an artist which, going far beyond the boundaries of a single medium, comprises such different forms of expression as drawing, performance, photography, video, and objects, Birgit Jürgenssen received the Federal Chancellery's award in recognition of her merits as a photographer shortly before her death. She could not be present at the award ceremony, and it is thanks to her partner Hubert Winter's wish that the amount of 11,000 euros awarded to her was donated to the Academy of Fine Arts Vienna as a prize for students.

According to an agreement between the Federal Chancellery, the Academy of Fine Arts Vienna, and Hubert Winter, the Birgit Jürgenssen Prize amounting to a sum of 3,000 euros will thus be awarded in remembrance for the artist for the 8th time this year. It is awarded annually to a student of the Academy of Fine Arts Vienna for her/his achievements in the media sphere, taking works of artistic photography, video and (digital) media art into special consideration.

The jury, which comprises Carola Dertnig, Dorit Margreiter, Peter Noever, and Felicitas Thun-Hohenstein, has unanimously decided to award this year's Birgit-Jürgenssen-Prize to Toni Schmale.


2004: Pirmin Blum
2005: Marlene Haring
2006: Andreas Duscha
2007: Björn Kämmerer
2008: Ulrike Köppinger
2009: Susanne Miggitsch
2010: Nathalie Koger