Skip to main content

Birgit-Jürgenssen-Prize 2013 awarded to Antoinette Zwirchmayr

Event Label
Award Ceremony and book launch
Organisational Units
Location Description
Location Venue (1)
Main Building
Location Address (1)
Schillerplatz 3
Location ZIP and/or City (1)
1010 Vienna

Opening hours: 11 a.m. - 6 p.m., free access

Award ceremony and book launch | 11.04.2013, 6.00 p.m.
Welcoming speech | Eva Blimlinger, Rector of the Academy of Fine Arts Vienna
Ceremonial address in memory of Birgit Jürgenssen |
Gabriele Schor, head of Sammlung Verbund
Laudatory speech in honour of the Birgit-Jürgenssen-Prizewinner |
Sasha Pirker, Senior Artist, department Video and Videoinstallation of the Academy of Fine Arts Vienna
Presentation of the award | Art Department in the Austrian Federal Ministry for Education, Arts and Culture
followed by Buffet

As a teacher and member of various academic boards, Birgit Jürgenssen was closely bound up with the Academy of Fine Arts Vienna and, throughout many years, had a determining influence on the institution. From the early 1980s on, she was involved in establishing an interdisciplinary platform forging a link between painting and photography in the context of the master class of Arnulf Rainer and, subsequently, that of Peter Kogler. Until her untimely end, the relationship and contact with her students remained a crucial concern for her as a teacher.

For her work as an artist which, going far beyond the boundaries of a single medium, comprises such different forms of expression as drawing, performance, photography, video, and objects, Birgit Jürgenssen received the Federal Chancellery's award in recognition of her merits as a photographer shortly before her death. She could not be present at the award ceremony, and it is thanks to her partner Hubert Winter's wish that the amount of 11,000 euros awarded to her was donated to the Academy of Fine Arts Vienna as a prize for students.

According to an agreement between the Federal Chancellery, the Academy of Fine Arts Vienna, and Hubert Winter, the Birgit Jürgenssen Prize amounting to a sum of 5,000 euros will thus be awarded in remembrance for the artist for the 10th time this year. It is awarded annually to a student of the Academy of Fine Arts Vienna for her/his achievements in the media sphere, taking works of artistic photography, video and (digital) media art into special consideration.

The jury, which comprises Carola Dertnig, Dorit Margreiter, Peter Noever, and Felicitas Thun-Hohenstein, has unanimously decided to award this year's Birgit-Jürgenssen-Prize to Antoinette Zwirchmayr.


Birgit-Jürgenssen-Prizewinner 2004: Pirmin Blum
Birgit-Jürgenssen-Prizewinner 2005: Marlene Haring
Birgit-Jürgenssen-Prizewinner 2006: Andreas Duscha
Birgit-Jürgenssen-Prizewinner 2007: Björn Kämmerer
Birgit-Jürgenssen-Prizewinner 2008: Ulrike Köppinger
Birgit-Jürgenssen-Prizewinner 2009: Susanne Miggitsch
Birgit-Jürgenssen-Prizewinner 2010: Nathalie Koger
Birgit-Jürgenssen-Prizewinner 2011: Toni Schmale

Birgit-Jürgenssen-Prizewinner 2012: Bernadette Anzengruber