Skip to main content

Arbitration commission

Each university in Austria is to establish an arbitration commission, and its duties are to include the following:

  1. mediating in disputes between university members;
  2. dealing with complaints passed on by the Equal Opportunities Team with regard to gender discrimination perpetrated by the university governing bodies.

All university bodies and members are obliged to provide the arbitration commission with information on matters investigated. When fulfilling their duties, the members of the arbitration commission are not bound by any directions, and neither are they responsible for issues investigated by law. Therefore, the arbitration commission does not deal with study matters, habilitations or matters of employment law. The arbitration commission is expected to reach unanimous decisions taken by all parties concerned.


  • Chairman Hon.-Prof. Dr. Herbert Pimmer (Panelpresident of the Supreme Court of Justice-retired)
  • Vice-chairwoman Hon.Prof. Dr.Elisabeth Lovrek (President of the Supreme Court of Justice)
  • Arch.Dipl.Ing.Dr. Ulrike Köck (Architect)
  • BA Thomas Wallerberger (Author and Philosopher)
  • Dr. Kevin Fredy Hinterberger (Expert on Asylum and Migration Law in the Austrian Federal Chamber of Labour)
  • Mag. Ines Rössl (Assistant Professor at the Department of Legal Philosophy /University of Vienna)