Skip to main content

University Council

Together with the Rectorate and the Senate, the University Council is one of the university’s three collegial governing bodies. Its currently five members are equally nominated by the university and the federal government, who then elect one further member. Their term of office is five years.

Current term of office 01/03/ 2018–28/02/2023


Mag. Boris Marte
(b. 1964 in Bregenz, Vorarlberg) is director of the ERSTE Hub, Erste Group Bank AG, and deputy chairman of the board of the ERSTE Foundation. Since October 2012, Marte has headed the ERSTE Hub, the Erste Group Innovation Lab, where he, together with an interdisciplinary team of software developers and designers, has been working on building a new digital ecosystem for the retail banking of the future. He held several political positions, particularly in cultural politics, for example, on the staff of the federal Minister of Science and Research and as Chief of Cabinet to the Vienna City Councillor for Cultural Affairs. Boris Marte was responsible for the project of the installation of a Holocaust Memorial by Rachel Whiteread at the Vienna Judenplatz Square.
He is a graduate of the law school of the University of Vienna.

Deputy chair
Mag. Radostina Patulova
(b. in Sofia, Bulgaria), cultural scientist and curator. Works at the interface of theoretical, art and textual production. Since 2016 co-director of a project entitled the kollektiv sprachwechsel. Literatur in der Zweitsprache . 2012–2015 co-director and curator of the WIENWOCHE festival. 2007–2012 board member of IG Kultur Österreich. Co-founder of , the online magazine of migrants for everybody (2009–2015). Co-editor of fields of TRANSFER. MigrantInnen in der Kulturarbeit , 2007.
Graduate of cultural studies and philosophy in Sofia and Vienna.

Dr. Bernhard Hainz (b. in 1959 in Vienna) is a lawyer in Vienna; studied law at the University of Vienna, Dr. iuris in 1981; contract assistant at the Institute for Labor and Social Law of the University of Vienna from 1983 to 1985; independent attorney since 1987; partner of CMS Reich-Rohrwig Hainz Rechtsanwälte GmbH since 2002; he heads the department for labor and pension law, advises on judicial and extrajudicial labor law matters, including the negotiation of collective agreements, works agreements, social plans, disputes with works councils and employees, service contracts and termination agreements, as well as pension and pension fund matters. Representation of artists and art institutions in art law matters, also internationally. Co-author of the Handbuch Kunstrecht , Manz Verlag, on the subject of artists' social insurance. Bernhard Hainz is an enthusiastic collector of modern and contemporary art

Dr.-Ing. Sigrid Hintersteininger (b. in 1971 in Freistadt, Upper Austria), Graduate in architecture from the University of Technology in Graz and project architect working for different architecture offices. Between 2002 and 2006, research fellow and lecturer at the University of Stuttgart and the Stuttgart Technology University of Applied Sciences. In 2006, she earned a PhD from the University of Stuttgart for a research project entitled Entgrenztes Wohnen, Die Creative Class im Medienzeitalter . Her doctoral dissertation received an award from the German Institute of Urban Affairs for its contribution to the issue of City and Architecture .
Since 2007, she has been principal of her own architecture firm, Sigrid Hintersteininger Architects (SHA), in Stuttgart. With her team, she works in the area of sustainable and future-oriented architecture, spatial design, and urbanism.
Currently, Sigrid Hintersteininger also teaches design at the Faculty of Architecture and Urban Planning of the University of Stuttgart.

Alexander Horwath (b. in 1964 in Vienna) is a curator and author of numerous publications. Between 1992 and 1997, he was director of the annual Viennale film festival, and between 2002 and 2017 of the Austrian Film Museum. He teaches at the University of Music and Performing Arts and is a corresponding member of the Secession Association and a member of the Berlin Academy of Arts. In 2018, he received the Decoration of Honor in Gold for Services to the Province of Vienna.


Based on motions proposed by the Rectorate in consultation with the Senate, the University Council defines the university’s development policy objectives and the strategies to be pursued to achieve them.

The duties of the University Council are specified in § 21 of the Universities Act 2002, including e.g.:

  • the approval of the development plan, the organization plan, the draft performance agreement, and the rules of procedure of the Rectorate;
  • the election of the rector from a three-candidate shortlist drawn up by the Senate;
  • the election of the vice rectors based on a nomination proposal from the rector and after consultation with the Senate;
  • the conclusion of employment contracts with the rector and vice rectors;
  • the conclusion of target agreements with the rector and the Rectorate;
  • the approval of financial statements and statements of account.

Members in the 2018 – 2023 term
Chair Dr. Eduard Saxinger, until 16.04.2021

Members in the 2013–2018 term
Mag. Dr. Alfred Brogyányi
Dr. Ingried Brugger
Dr. Karin Gmeiner
Matthias Herrmann
Dr. Rudolf Scholten

Members in the 2008–2013 term
Mag. Dr. Alfred Brogyányi
Dr. Ingried Brugger
Prof. Stephan Dillemuth
Dr. Silvia Eiblmayr
Mag. Boris Marte
Prof. Dr. Ingrid Moser (ab 1.10.2011)
Mag. Ingrid Scholz-Strasser (bis 30.9.2011)
Prof. Katharina Sieverding

Members in the 2003–2008 term
Dr. Sabine Breitwieser
Sylvia Eisenburger-Kunz (ab 6.10.2006)
Alexander Kahane
Mag. Ingrid Scholz-Strasser
Dr. Wilfried Seipel
Prof. Dr. Sybille Ebert-Schifferer
Dr. Marlene Streeruwitz (bis 5.10.2006)
Dipl.-Ing. Günter Rhomberg