Skip to main content

Art and Education

The Art and Education program at the Institute for Education in the Arts brings together artistic practice, design basics, didactics, art teaching and art mediation with art history and art theory as well as social theory.

The structural changes in contemporary societies wrought by globalization, migration, new economies and increasing social inequality are also transforming the field of art and education. Artistic, education-based and theoretical negotiations of these complex relations between art, education, and society are based on a research-driven teaching practice.

Art and Education links artistic practice and art-based art education with its didactical aspects. The program focuses on critical theories of art, society, city, space, globalization, migration, as well as on postcolonial, feminist and queer-feminist theories, and on the politics of history and remembrance.

All programs include art and cultural pedagogy at the Institute for Education in the Arts in order to provide students with the principles of the educational sciences and preparatory pedagogical training.

The bachelor programs Art and Education and Design in Context offer consecutive master studies.

The Art and Education program fulfills the qualification requirements for teaching positions in secondary schools. The program aims for its graduates to have an artistic, communication- and theory-driven practice that serves as the foundation for socially responsible teaching, art education, the theoretical engagement of art and education, and cultural production.

Name
Univ.-Prof. Mag. PhD. Elke Krasny
Phone
+ 43 (1) 58816 - 9300
Email
e.krasny@akbild.ac.at
Name
Carla Degenhardt
Email
c.degenhardt@akbild.ac.at
Name
Mag. Zuzana Ernst-Moncayo
Email
z.ernst-moncayo@akbild.ac.at
Name
Mag. Magdalena Fritsch
Additional Information
Educational leave summer term 2022 – substitute: Sophie Lingg
Phone
+ 43 (1) 58816 - 9316
Email
m.fritsch@akbild.ac.at
Name
Mag. Dr. Ing. Johannes Köck
Phone
+ 43 (1) 58816 - 9314
Fax
+ 43 (1) 58816 - 9399
Email
j.koeck@akbild.ac.at
Name
M.A.Ph.D. Joonas Lahtinen
Phone
+ 43 (1) 58816 - 9312
Email
j.lahtinen@akbild.ac.at
Name
Mag. MA. Claudia Lomoschitz
Phone
+ 43 (1) 58816 - 9315
Email
c.lomoschitz@akbild.ac.at

Faculty Art and Education

Name
Mag. Katharina Luksch
Email
k.luksch@akbild.ac.at
Name
Mag. Irmgard Bebe
Email
i.bebe@akbild.ac.at
Name
Lic. Carla Bobadilla
Email
c.bobadilla@akbild.ac.at
Name
Mag. Dr. Johanna Braun
Email
j.braun@akbild.ac.at
Name
Mag. Barbara Eichhorn
Email
b.eichhorn@akbild.ac.at
Name
MMag. Nicola Jakob-Feiks
Email
n.jakob-feiks@akbild.ac.at
Name
PD Dr.phil. habil. Jens Kastner
Phone
+ 43 (1) 58816 - 8130
Email
j.kastner@akbild.ac.at
Name
HS-Prof. Mag. Mag. Dr. Rolf Laven
Email
r.laven@akbild.ac.at
Name
Mag. Sophie Lingg
Email
s.lingg@akbild.ac.at
Name
Mag. Matthias Michalka
Email
m.michalka@akbild.ac.at
Name
MA. Carlota Mir
Email
c.mir@akbild.ac.at
Name
Mag. Mag. Malgorzata Oliwa
Email
m.oliwa@akbild.ac.at
Name
Mag. Fabio Alexander Otti
Email
f.otti@akbild.ac.at
Name
Sascha Regina Reichstein
Email
s.reichstein@akbild.ac.at
Name
Dipl.-Ing. Dr. Karin Reisinger
Phone
+ 43 (1) 58816 - 1137
Email
k.reisinger@akbild.ac.at
Name
BEd Mag. Marie Magdalena Rest
Email
m.rest@akbild.ac.at
Name
MA BSc Lale Rodgarkia-Dara
Email
l.rodgarkia-dara@akbild.ac.at
Name
Mag. Isa Rosenberger
Email
i.rosenberger@akbild.ac.at
Name
Mag. Hansel Sato
Email
h.sato@akbild.ac.at
Name
MA. Juliane Saupe
Email
j.saupe@akbild.ac.at
Name
MA. Helena Schmidt
Email
h.schmidt@akbild.ac.at
Name
Dr.phil. Konstanze Schütze
Email
k.schuetze@akbild.ac.at
Name
Mag. Franziska Thurner
Email
f.thurner@akbild.ac.at
Name
Mag. Christoph Urwalek
Email
c.urwalek@akbild.ac.at
Name
Mag. Flora Watzal
Email
f.watzal@akbild.ac.at