Skip to main content

Fashions and Styles

Fashions and Styles negotiates fashions, styles, and identities and situates them at the intersections of design, art, and society. Students learn the foundations of craft, design and subject-specific discourse and didactics with the goal to enable them to initiate, design, guide, and reflect creative processes in pedagogical situations.

The structural changes in contemporary societies brought about by globalization, migration, new economies and increasing social inequality are also transforming the field of art and design education.

Fashions and Styles engages the construction of embodied identities and works on the re-design and de-stereotyping of normative fashions and of corporeal and gender identities. The program provides students with the needed practical, technical, artistic, theoretical, and didactic skills, whereby emphasis is placed on perspectives and approaches informed by intersectionality, the postcolonial condition, and the impact of migration on society. Following Cultural Studies, the concept of “style,” therein, reflects self-will, everyday practices, and migratory histories of (youth-)cultural actors. The foundation for such studies is a research-oriented teaching approach in artistic, didactic and scientific practice in the field of Fashion and Textile Studies.

Name
Univ.-Prof. Mag. Dr. Elke Gaugele
Phone
+ 43 (1) 58816 - 9200
Email
e.gaugele@akbild.ac.at
Name
Dr. Heike Derwanz
Phone
+ 43 (1) 58816 - 9212
Email
h.derwanz@akbild.ac.at
Name
Mag. Mag. Dr. Elisabeth Freiß
Phone
+ 43 (1) 58816 - 9214
Email
e.freiss@akbild.ac.at
Name
Dr.phil. Sarah Held
Additional Information
Substitute for Jacob Lena Knebl
Phone
+ 43 (1) 58816 - 9213
Email
s.held@akbild.ac.at
Name
MMag. Valerie Lange
Phone
+ 43 (1) 58816 - 9216
Email
v.lange@akbild.ac.at

Faculty Fashions and Styles

Name
Mag. Christiane Gruber
Email
c.gruber@akbild.ac.at
Name
Mag. Mag. Mag. Maria Hanl
Email
m.hanl@akbild.ac.at
Name
MA. MA. Michiel Helbig
Email
m.helbig@akbild.ac.at
Name
Mag. Kathrin Lugbauer
Email
k.lugbauer@akbild.ac.at
Name
Mag. Pia Elisa Nagl
Email
p.nagl@akbild.ac.at
Name
Mag. Elisabeth Niedermayr
Email
e.niedermayr@akbild.ac.at
Name
Mag. Ulrike Nöbauer
Phone
+ 43 (1) 58816 - 9217
Email
u.noebauer@akbild.ac.at
Name
Mag. Markus Pires Mata
Email
m.hausleitner@akbild.ac.at
Name
Mag. Wilbirg Reiter-Heinisch
Email
w.reiter-heinisch@akbild.ac.at
Name
Mag. Dr. Wilfried Vetter
Phone
+ 43 (1) 58816 - 8614
Fax
+43 (1) 58816 - 8699
Email
w.vetter@akbild.ac.at