Skip to main content

Design and Context

Design and Context focuses on the foundations of craft, design and subject-specific discourse and didactics with a focus on development, production and use of things, architectures and spaces. The program’s goal is to enable students to initiate, design, guide and reflect creative processes in pedagogical situations.

All programs include art and cultural pedagogy at the Institute for Education in the Arts in order to provide students with the principles of the educational sciences and preparatory pedagogical training. The bachelor programs Art and Education and Design in Context offer consecutive master studies.

Design and Context links the procedural requirements of development and production with analyses, methods, and knowledge from the fields of design and architectural theory, of Material Cultural Studies, critique of technology, theories of globalization, gender theories, and Postcolonial Studies. Didactic and teaching oriented aspects of the program are taught in close relation to practical aspects of the three core subjects (Technology; Product | Design; Architecture | City | Space), thus opening up possibilities for an integrated understanding of material as well as social design processes.

Name
Univ.-Prof. Mag. Martin Beck
Phone
+ 43 (1) 58816 - 9100
Fax
+ 43 (1) 58816 - 9199
Email
m.beck@akbild.ac.at
Name
Dr. Heike Derwanz
Phone
+ 43 (1) 58816 - 9212
Email
h.derwanz@akbild.ac.at
Name
Ao.Univ.-Prof. Mag. Michael Herbst
Phone
+ 43 (1) 58816 - 9110
Fax
+ 43 (1) 58816 - 9199
Email
m.herbst@akbild.ac.at
Name
Mag. Dr. Anna Weiß
Phone
+ 43 (1) 58816 - 9113
Email
a.weiss@akbild.ac.at

Faculty Design and Context

Name
Mag. Marlies Brommer
Email
m.brommer@akbild.ac.at
Name
Mag. Reinhart-Wolfgang Buchegger
Email
r.buchegger@akbild.ac.at
Name
Mag. Astrid Engl
Email
a.engl@akbild.ac.at
Name
Mag. Martina Gaigg
Phone
+ 43 (1) 58816 - 9114
Fax
+ 43 (1) 58816 - 9199
Email
m.gaigg@akbild.ac.at
Name
Dieter Gorjanz
Email
d.gorjanz@akbild.ac.at
Name
Mag. Ursula Görlitz
Email
u.goerlitz@akbild.ac.at
Name
Mag. Sarah Gruber
Email
sa.gruber@akbild.ac.at
Name
Mag. Mag. Ulrike Haele
Email
u.haele@akbild.ac.at
Name
Mag. Andrea Harrer
Email
a.harrer@akbild.ac.at
Name
Mag. Dr. Gert Hasenhütl
Email
g.hasenhuetl@akbild.ac.at
Name
Mag. Richard Hilbert
Phone
+ 43 (1) 58816 - 6142
Email
r.hilbert@akbild.ac.at
Name
Mag. Erich Hubmann
Email
e.hubmann@akbild.ac.at
Name
Mag. Hans Krameritsch
Email
h.krameritsch@akbild.ac.at
Name
Mag. Mag. Eva-Maria Lausegger
Email
e.lausegger@akbild.ac.at
Name
Mag. Claudio Martins
Email
c.martins@akbild.ac.at
Name
Mag. Lilith Matthews
Email
l.matthews@akbild.ac.at
Name
Dipl.-Ing. Herbert Peter
Fax
+ 43 (1) 58816 - 5199
Email
h.peter@akbild.ac.at
Name
Mag. Susanne Redl
Email
s.redl@akbild.ac.at
Name
Mag. Barbara Rohner
Email
b.rohner@akbild.ac.at
Name
Mag. Stefanie Maria Schwarz
Email
s.schwarz@akbild.ac.at
Name
Mag. Peter Spitaler
Phone
+ 43 (1) 58816 - 9165
Email
p.spitaler@akbild.ac.at
Name
Mag. Daniel Geza Themeßl-Kollewijn
Email
d.themessl-kollewijn@akbild.ac.at
Name
Mag. Andreas Vass
Email
a.vass@akbild.ac.at