Skip to main content

Birgit-Jürgenssen-Prize 2014 awarded to Jennifer Mattes

Event Label
Award Ceremony and book launch
Organisational Units

Opening hours: 11 a.m. - 6 p.m., free access

Welcoming speech: Eva Blimlinger, Rector of the Academy of Fine Arts Vienna
Laudatory speech in honour of the Birgt-Jürgenssen-Prizewinner:
Constanze Ruhm, artist and professor for art and digital media
Presentation of the award: Josef Ostermayer, Federal Minister for Arts, Culture, Constitution and Public Service
Jury: Carola Dertnig, Peter Noever, Constanze Ruhm, Nicolaus Schafhausen

in the front from left to right: Constanze Ruhm, Peter Noever, Jennifer Mattes
background from left to right: Hubert Winter, Eva Blimlinger, Nicolaus Schafhausen, Josef Ostermayer
Photo: Claudia Rohrauer

As a teacher and member of various academic boards, Birgit Jürgenssen was closely bound up with the Academy of Fine Arts Vienna and, throughout many years, had a determining influence on the institution. From the early 1980s on, she was involved in establishing an interdisciplinary platform forging a link between painting and photography in the context of the master class of Arnulf Rainer and, subsequently, that of Peter Kogler. Until her untimely end, the relationship and contact with her students remained a crucial concern for her as a teacher.

For her work as an artist which, going far beyond the boundaries of a single medium, comprises such different forms of expression as drawing, performance, photography, video, and objects, Birgit Jürgenssen received the Federal Chancellery's award in recognition of her merits as a photographer shortly before her death. She could not be present at the award ceremony, and it is thanks to her partner Hubert Winter's wish that the amount of 11,000 euros awarded to her was donated to the Academy of Fine Arts Vienna as a prize for students.

m.any 2.jpg
Jennifer Mattes: M.ANY, 2009, HD Videostill

According to an agreement between the Federal Chancellery, the Academy of Fine Arts Vienna, and Hubert Winter, the Birgit Jürgenssen Prize amounting to a sum of 5,000 euros will thus be awarded in remembrance for the artist for the 11th time this year. It is awarded annually to a student of the Academy of Fine Arts Vienna for her/his achievements in the media sphere, taking works of artistic photography, video and (digital) media art into special consideration.

The jury, which comprises Carola Dertnig, Peter Noever, Constanze Ruhm and Nicolaus Schafhausen, has unanimously decided to award this year's Birgit-Jürgenssen-Prize to Jennifer Mattes.

Insight into the exhibition
photo: Clauda Rohrauer


Birgit-Jürgenssen-Prizewinner 2004: Pirmin Blum
Birgit-Jürgenssen-Prizewinner 2005: Marlene Haring
Birgit-Jürgenssen-Prizewinner 2006: Andreas Duscha
Birgit-Jürgenssen-Prizewinner 2007: Björn Kämmerer
Birgit-Jürgenssen-Prizewinner 2008: Ulrike Köppinger
Birgit-Jürgenssen-Prizewinner 2009: Susanne Miggitsch
Birgit-Jürgenssen-Prizewinner 2010: Nathalie Koger
Birgit-Jürgenssen-Prizewinner 2011: Toni Schmale

Birgit-Jürgenssen-Prizewinner 2012: Bernadette Anzengruber
Birgit-Jürgenssen-Prizewinner 2013: Antoinette Zwirchmayr