Skip to main content

Birgit Jürgenssen Prize

As a teacher and member of various academic boards, Birgit Jürgenssen (1949–2003) was closely bound up with the Academy of Fine Arts Vienna and, throughout many years, had a determining influence on the institution. Birgit Jürgenssen primarily initiated the teaching of photography, whereby this medium was a constant and very important companion to her own artistic language. From the early 1980s on, she was involved in establishing an interdisciplinary platform forging a link between painting and photography in the context of the master class of Arnulf Rainer and, subsequently, that of Peter Kogler. Until her untimely end, the relationship and contact with her students remained a crucial concern for her as a teacher.

Therefore, since 2004, the Birgit Jürgenssen Prize, endowed with 5000,- Euro has been awarded in her memory. The award is granted in cooperation with the Federal Ministry of Arts, Culture, Public Service and Sport and the Galerie Hubert Winter to a student of the Academy of Fine Arts Vienna for works in the fields of video or (digital) media art, drawing, artistic photography, sculpture, but also painting.

After the submission deadline, a jury of experts consisting of two teachers from the Academy of Fine Arts Vienna and three external artists or curators will select a winner.

The award ceremony and presentation of the work will take place around 10 April, Birgit Jürgenssen's birthday, considering the holiday periods of the academic year.

Necessary for submission:

The following documentation must be submitted in a single PDF with max. 5 MB and max. 30 pages:

  • Portfolio with art work / documentation of artistic work
  • Tabular curriculum vitae (CV)
  • For films, videos and sound pieces etc. please use (vimeo) links with password

Submissions are only possible via the Academy's submission system Only applications with complete information and documents that conform to the criteria listed above can be considered. Please keep in mind that the deadlines must be strictly adhered to.

Previous winners:

Hanna Kučera (2023), Anca Benera (2022), Aykan Safoğlu (2021), Jannik Franzen (2020), Isabella Brunäcker (2019), Viltė Bražiūnaitė (2018), Johannes Gierlinger (2017), Cana Bilir-Meier (2016), Daniela Grabosch (2015), Jennifer Mattes (2014),Antoinette Zwirchmayr (2013), Bernadette Anzengruber (2012), Toni Schmale (2011), Nathalie Koger (2010), Susanne Miggitsch (2009), Ulrike Köppinger (2008), Björn Kämmerer (2007), Andreas Duscha (2006), Marlene Haring (2005), Pirmin Blum (2004)

Contact and information:

Vice-Rectorate for Art | Teaching
Mag. Daniela Jungmann-Masilko
T +43(1)58816-1202